Mamata Banerjee swearing-in Live: Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee will be taking oath as Chief Minister of West Bengal for the third time in a row. The swearing-in ceremony will be a low-essential programme due to the ongoing COVID-19 predicament. Mamata Banerjee’s swearing-in will take location at Raj Bhavan in Kolkata today. Notably, no BJP leader has been invited to the ceremony. Invitations have been sent to her predecessor Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, leader of Opposition of the outgoing House Abdul Mannan and CPI(M) veteran leader Biman Bose. Among other folks, TMC and Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, TMC’s poll-strategist Prashant Kishor and party leader Firhad Hakim are most likely to be present at the ceremony scheduled to be held at the Raj Bhavan. BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has also been invited to the ceremony. Chief ministers of other states and leaders of other political parties have not been invited to the programme maintaining in thoughts the present COVID-19 predicament in the nation.

Only Mamata Banerjee will be taking oath today although it is not clear when her cabinet colleagues will be taking an oath. Soon immediately after taking the oath, Banerjee will go to the state secretariat ‘Nabanna’ exactly where she will be offered ‘guard of honour’ by Kolkata Police.

9.50 am: In Nandigram, BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari had defeated Banerjee by a margin of 1956 votes.

9.45 am: Mamata Banerjee require to get elected to the West Bengal Assembly as she had lost Nandigram battle.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here